Home › All 50 states › Ohio
How much does a OVI cost in Ohio?
A first OVI in Ohio carries a statutory fine of $565–$1,075. This guide stacks every cost layer an official Ohio source prices — the fine, court costs, the license reinstatement fee, the OVI program, ignition interlock, and the SR-22 insurance filing — and says plainly which layers no official source prices at all.
| Ohio OVI costs at a glance | Figure |
|---|---|
| Statutory fine — first OVI | For a first OVI, Ohio Revised Code § 4511.19 requires a fine of not less than $565 and not more than $1,075 (amounts in the version of the statute effective April 9, 2025). Court costs and other statutory charges are added on top of the fine. |
| Statutory fine — second OVI | The statute separates a second offense: $715–$1,625. Second offenses also carry longer suspensions and program requirements — see the sections below. |
| Court costs & fees | Ohio court costs in OVI cases are set by the municipal or mayor's court that hears the case and are added to the statutory fine. The state does not publish one statewide court-cost figure. |
| License suspension — first offense | A first OVI brings a court-ordered license suspension of one to three years. The court may grant limited driving privileges, including unlimited driving privileges with an ignition interlock device, and may reduce the suspension as authorized by § 4510.022. |
| License reinstatement fee | The Ohio BMV fee schedule lists a $315.00 reinstatement fee for an OVI/physical control suspension (conviction date on or after April 9, 2025), and a separate $315.00 fee for an Administrative License Suspension arising from the arrest. |
| Ignition interlock | Conditional — restricted license / court order — An ignition interlock is not mandatory for every Ohio first offender. It is the condition the court attaches when it grants unlimited driving privileges during the suspension under § 4511.19, and the offender pays the device costs charged by the vendor. |
| OVI education / treatment program | Instead of the mandatory three-day jail term, a first offender may complete a certified three-day Driver Intervention Program (DIP). Program fees are set by the providers and are not published by the state. |
| SR-22 insurance filing | Ohio drivers are generally required to show proof of financial responsibility when reinstating after an OVI suspension, commonly through an SR-22 filing or a bond, but the requirement was not stated on the official BMV fee page opened for this project. The state charges no SR-22 fee itself; any cost is in the insurance premium. |
The fine is only the first layer. Add interlock months, towing, and your insurance increase to the verified state charges in the calculator.
Open the DUI cost calculatorThe fine
For a first OVI, Ohio Revised Code § 4511.19 requires a fine of not less than $565 and not more than $1,075 (amounts in the version of the statute effective April 9, 2025). Court costs and other statutory charges are added on top of the fine.
Court costs & fees
Ohio court costs in OVI cases are set by the municipal or mayor's court that hears the case and are added to the statutory fine. The state does not publish one statewide court-cost figure.
License suspension & reinstatement
A first OVI brings a court-ordered license suspension of one to three years. The court may grant limited driving privileges, including unlimited driving privileges with an ignition interlock device, and may reduce the suspension as authorized by § 4510.022.
The Ohio BMV fee schedule lists a $315.00 reinstatement fee for an OVI/physical control suspension (conviction date on or after April 9, 2025), and a separate $315.00 fee for an Administrative License Suspension arising from the arrest.
The national picture — which states charge the most to reinstate — is in our license reinstatement guide.
Ignition interlock
An ignition interlock is not mandatory for every Ohio first offender. It is the condition the court attaches when it grants unlimited driving privileges during the suspension under § 4511.19, and the offender pays the device costs charged by the vendor.
How interlock pricing works (installation, monthly lease, calibration, removal) is in our ignition interlock cost guide.
OVI education & treatment program
Instead of the mandatory three-day jail term, a first offender may complete a certified three-day Driver Intervention Program (DIP). Program fees are set by the providers and are not published by the state.
SR-22 & insurance
Ohio drivers are generally required to show proof of financial responsibility when reinstating after an OVI suspension, commonly through an SR-22 filing or a bond, but the requirement was not stated on the official BMV fee page opened for this project. The state charges no SR-22 fee itself; any cost is in the insurance premium.
What an SR-22 is, which states charge a filing fee, and how long it must be carried: SR-22 cost guide.
Towing, impound & other charges
An OVI arrest also triggers an Administrative License Suspension, which carries its own $315 BMV reinstatement fee in addition to the fee for the court-ordered suspension.
Worked total: the verified charges stacked
| Item | Cost |
|---|---|
| Statutory fine | $565–$1,075 |
| License reinstatement fee | $315 |
| Total of the verified state-set charges above | $880–$1,390 |
That total is deliberately incomplete: it leaves out everything no official Ohio source prices statewide — court costs where they are set county by county, interlock lease payments to a private vendor, towing and storage, and the insurance increase that follows an SR-22. Add your own figures for those in the cost calculator.
Sources: Ohio Revised Code § 4511.19 (Ohio Laws / Legislative Service Commission) · Ohio BMV — Documents & Fees. Researched October 2026 — confirm current figures with the court and the driver-licensing agency.
Other state guides
Texas · California · Florida · New York · Illinois · Pennsylvania · All 50 states